Skip to content

Your Mission

July 7, 2009

As I am thinking through the Mission, Vision, and Values of my company, I think through the issues that are most important to me now.  None of these are explicitly Christian, though I do believe that as a Christian, these are important to me.  I made a New Years resolution last January to do something for each of these causes:  Clean Water for 3rd world countries, recycling, Education for the poor, battered women, aids, widows, arts in the city, foreigners in the states, homelessness, sustainable food/ income.  I know the list isn’t entirely clear or but it is the original list , put together without any idea of what the accomplishment of it would even look like.  So far, it has been involvement with Greendrinks.  I took responsibility this week to be in charge of the science and technology talks.  I am very excited!  I have also volunteered a bit with my friend Emily and looking to possible work with Ourlando.  It is a local group that is working to build a community where local music, food, and goods are made easily accessible to the people of Orlando.  Recycling has always been important to me, increasing every year, but now my focus is on using everything I have till it’s exhausted before I recycle.  I am often discourage by how hard it is to recycle here.  If you live in a apartment, you have to drop off what you can at certain spots (e-mail me and I can e-mail you a spreadsheet of all the recycling centers in Orlando.)  And if you are in a home (at least in East Orlando,) you have to find a place to recycle paper since the recycle truck won’t take it.   As far as clean water, is often depressing as the situation is truly dire, but people don’t know it.  The same can be said for soil here in the States.  For Aids, Clean Water, Sustainable food/Income I have mainly participated through countless petitions (which I plan to publish here.)

One current petition would be through Salesian Missions, whose mission is “From building schools where there are none to feeding street children and giving them hope through education, Salesian Missions is dedicated to making the world a better place. It’s more than just feeding the poor or helping homeless children. Their mission focuses on rebuilding lives and helping young people become self-sufficient by learning a trade that will help them gain employment, which in turn builds communities.”

The year is about half over and I have yet to do something for battered women, homelessness, widows, and arts in the city.  I have a few ideas. I hope to write more on them later.  One thing is that a portion of my sales I want to give to certain projects, I have been investigating.  I am looking for ways to let the buyer decide where to give the percentage of their sale if they should choose.  Ahhhh, business.  My dream would be to be able to make significant strides for each of these causes through my business.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

